Make your own: teriyaki sauce

While I am not a big fan of sweet stuff on my meat, Jeff loves it. Barbecue sauce, maple syrup, honey, jam–you name it and he’s probably tried to broil it on a chicken breast or grill it on a pork chop.

If we don’t have dinner planned yet (hey, it happens) Jeff will inevitably suggest “chickie-rice,” his name for the chicken, rice, and teriyaki sauce combo you can pick up from any bento place. While we had made this dish at home before with purchased teriyaki sauce, it never occurred to me that the sauce itself was incredibly simple to make until we finished off the seemingly-bottomless bottle of it in our fridge.

Teriyaki Sauce from Recipezaar

1/4 soy sauce
1 T. grated ginger
3 T. brown sugar
1 clove garlic, minced
2 T. cornstarch

Combine everything but the cornstarch in a small saucepan with 1 c. water. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Stir the cornstarch into 1/4 c. cold water and whisk into sauce, cooking until thickened.

The recipe makes two cups of teriyaki sauce. You can adjust the sugar, ginger, etc. to taste, and thin the sauce out with more water or soy sauce if you need to. Now you can spend the $4 you would have spent on the sauce on something else!

(A note about fresh ginger: I think I have mentioned this before, but I keep ginger in my freezer in a ziploc bag. It’s really easy to peel a section and grate it with my microplane grater when it’s frozen, and this means I always have it on hand.)

Leave a comment