Can you have too many pies?

I think not.

I’m on pie duty this year and I’m taking my job very seriously. Or maybe I’m just really in the mood for pie. At any rate, I’m expanding on our normal 2-3 pie varieties. Here’s what I have on the lineup:

Pumpkin: not messing with tradition here, I’ll just use the regular recipe off the pumpkin label or maybe the One-pie recipe I used last year.

Pecan: again, traditional, but maybe with some dark chocolate chips tossed in the bottom.

Cranberry mince tart: this is a family tradition that my mom came up with I don’t know how long ago. Just use the food processor to mix the best prepared mincemeat you can find with a cored apple, a cup or so of fresh cranberries (right mom?), and some sugar to taste. Bake in a tart or quiche pan and serve with whipped cream.

Chocolate Cream: I’ve never made a chocolate cream pie before, and I’ve certainly never associated them with Thanksgiving, but for some reason I’ve really been wanting one and figured it would make more sense to wait for a festive occasion so I wasn’t tempted to eat the whole pie myself. I think I’m going to use this recipe but will make a regular pie crust (as did many of the reviewers.)

Apple: Another pie that’s been on my crave list recently. I’m going to try to hunt down some interesting combination of apples for this one. Many people swear by varieties I doubt I’ll be able to find like Northern Spy or Cortland, but I’m pretty sure I should be able to track down Jonagolds, maybe some Gravensteins or Empires, and certainly Granny Smiths. This will be my only pie with two crusts.

I’m going to use this pie crust recipe, which has never turned out anything but flaky for me, for all of them.

3 responses to “Can you have too many pies?

  1. I’ve barely had any and certainly never made pecan pie, but I bet Duane would appreciate it. Do you have a good recipe?

  2. I’m pretty sure I used this one last year: http://www.cookingforengineers.com/recipe/18/Traditional-Pecan-Pie

    It uses maple syrup instead of corn syrup.

  3. It’s not *exactly* pecan pie… but soooo good!

    Chocolate Bourbon and Kahlua Pecan Pie

    We call it alky pecan pie. šŸ™‚

Leave a comment