Menu & Grocery List for 11/23-11/29

More cooking with what we have for dinners this short week:

Mushroom barley soup: I’m really looking forward to more barley!

Noodles with broccoli and peanut sauce, pickled radish salad: I’ll mix both leftover whole wheat spaghetti and a bundle of soba noodles (cooked separately) with the broccoli stems and green onions that have been waiting patiently in my refrigerator. Some hearty radishes will finally find their calling too.

Migas: even after last week’s tortilla soup we still have a surplus of corn chip detritus but this perennial favorite should take care of some of it. We also have half a leftover avocado that needs to be eaten right away.

Grocery list

dried porcini mushrooms
fresh mushrooms (1/4 lb.)
daikon
ginger
salsa

I do have a big list of ingredients for the pies and other side dishes I’m bringing for Thanksgiving dinner, but my dinner grocery list is refreshingly short this week. Even shopping carefully we eventually seem to end up with enough odds and ends to make something edible. It will be nice to use up many of the things that look forlornly at me every time I open the refrigerator. Aside from the big day, the rest of the week will probably involve a burrito stop on our way out of town, leftovers, leftovers and more leftovers, and at least one meal that involves crabs, clam chowder, or other beach-worthy foods.

Leave a comment